CommArts Conference Winners

Congratulations to the Spring 2022 CommArts Conference scholarship winners:

First Place Winner ($4,577 scholarship prize):
Jessica Windischman. “Social Media’s Neurological Impact and God.”

Judges commended Jessica for the quality of her research, her excellent presentation skills, and her thoughtful content, offering a Christian perspective as well as scientific studies concerning a widespread social phenomenon.

Honorable Mention ($250 scholarship prize – in alphabetical order):
Abigail Herman. “Ansel Adams’ Profound Influence.”
Mary Ruth Jenkins. “Advice for the Mental Health of Transracial Adoptees.”
Amir Scott. “Intersectional Identities Incarcerated.”

CommArts Winners are Ruth Jenkins, Abigail Herman, Amir Scott and Jessica Windischman.

These scholarships were established in honor of Emeritus Professor Dr. Stuart Ryder, affectionately known as “Doc.” Doc was the founder of the Communication Arts program at Judson and a much-beloved professor over decades of teaching. He passed from this life to heaven in 2021. The money for the awards came from the generosity of David MacFadzean, a former Judson professor who became a screenwriter and producer in Hollywood, most famous for “Roseanne” and “Home Improvement.” 

Many thanks to all of the presenters, and to Dr. Anderson, Professor Kimberly Schmidt, and Professor Timothy May for their excellent work in producing the conference.

Scroll to Top