Nominate Someone for Judson’s Community and Youth Service Awards

Help recognize area service leaders and youth leaders by nominating someone for the D. Ray Wilson Volunteer Service Award and the Bea Wilson Youth Service Award, which are presented each year at Judson University’s Community Prayer Breakfast.

RJ Green receives the Bea Wilson award in 2020.

Both awards recognize candidates who have contributed to the greater good in the Fox Valley community by voluntarily serving others’ physical, emotional, intellectual or spiritual needs. The recognitions will be given during Judson University’s Community Prayer Breakfast, which will be held Monday, May 10, at various locations on campus (1151 N. State St., Elgin) to provide adequate spacing for participants.

The Bea Wilson Youth Volunteer Service Award recognizes freshmen through juniors in high school in the Fox Valley for voluntarily performing community work that serves others’ physically, emotionally, intellectually or spiritually. The Bea Wilson Youth Volunteer Service Award winner will also receive a $3,000 scholarship annually to attend Judson University.

The awards were named in honor of D. Ray Wilson, a former Judson trustee and publisher of the Courier News, and his wife, Bea Wilson, who was a community champion of hope, service and hospitality. This Spring, the 2020 award recipients will be honored as well as the new, 2021 honorees.

All nominations must be submitted by the deadline, Friday, April 9.

Nominations for the awards can be submitted at these links:
D. Ray Wilson Volunteer Service Award –
Bea Wilson Youth Volunteer Service Award-

Any questions about the Community Prayer Breakfast, award nominations or sponsorship can be emailed to [email protected]. All nominators and nominees are invited to attend the prayer breakfast. Nominees receive a complimentary ticket to the breakfast.

General admission tickets are $30. Table sponsorships are $500 for businesses and non-profits and $300 for Church Table sponsorships with each receiving a table of eight guests. Tickets will be available beginning Sunday, March 1. Find out more information at

Scroll to Top